Malta became an independent country in 1964; it consists of seven islands due south of Sicily. Valetta is its main seaport and capital city. Malta was originally inhabited beginning around 5200 BC so it has a rich history of conquering nations and cultures.

At first page Next page
Return to Mediterranean Index

Hit Counter